London Bucket List (#3)

After having successfully completed my bucket lists #1 and #2, I hereby open round number 3. As a reminder, my London bucket lists should help me to discover more things in London on a quarterly basis – this time we count until my birthday in July. Here are 8 things that I want to see until then. 

Flower Market, Columbia Road: currently May, I could not think of a better time to visit the famous flower market in the East of London. Wandering with a basket around to pick the nicest bouquets sounds like a cliché, but is my goal over the next couple of weeks.

British Museum: there is always one Museum that makes it on my list and this time it’s the Grande Dame – the famous British Museum. I probably will need a few visits to actually see all of it, though a visit would at least be a start.

Have a drink at the Shard: I recently looked at pictures from my London internship in 2008. Oh my, the city and its skyline have changed a lot since then. The most prominent change is the Shard, the highest skyscraper in London with its great rooftop bar in the Shangri-La Hotel.

Richmond Park: a bucket list without a park would be like Wimbledon without strawberries. With the weather becoming better (hopefully!), I am looking forward to exploring this huge park outside Central London where you can spot deers all year round.

Concert: to satisfy my cultural needs, I am planning to head for a classical concert over the next months. London has so much to offer every day of the week that I should find something that appeals to me. I try to go to a cultural event (theatre play, musical, concert) once per month, but lately concerts haven’t been my priority – time for a change!

Som Saa: no fancy restaurant this time, but instead a well known Thai place near Spitalfields. I have heard so much positive feedback that I want to give it a try next time I am around the area. Looking at their menu, ‘pad pak bung mu krob’ should be one I could definitely go for as it strongly reminds me of my favourite dishes in South East Asia.

Boris Bikes: another outdoor activity I haven’t done yet although the famous red bikes can be picked up at every corner. I am still thinking of a good route through the city to avoid traffic as much as possible – if you have any suggestions, let me know!

Hint Hunt: I don’t know about you, but I literally don’t know anyone who hasn’t done an escape room over the past months. It’s the big trend in London! I have just bought tickets to try one next week and I am really looking forward to it as I love solving puzzles!

Leave a Reply

