Hotel Hornberg, Sannenmöser

In February and March, my job exhausted me. I felt tired, was only little motivated and felt that I needed to escape the busy streets of London. As always, I could recharge my batteries in the mountains: this time, I went skiing in Switzerland where I stayed in the Hotel Hornberg in Saanenmöser.

The moment you enter the hotel lobby, you feel at home. The owners know every guest’s name and the wooden interior has a cosy chalet feeling. As a 4 star hotel you can benefit from all amenities, such as a fully equipped wellness area, a relaxing swimming pool, a large lounge bar and – since located right next to the ski lift – a ski room. Included in the room price is breakfast and a five-course dinner menu, both sourced locally and of high quality. As a coeliac, I was in particular impressed how well the hotel catered for my intolerance: I received gluten-free bread in the morning and was offered extra courses in the evening.

The Hornberg is located in the ski resort of Saanenmoeser/Gstaad in Central Switzerland. The resort is nice, although not as big as most French resorts. They have all slope difficulties, a wide range of restaurants (the Lochstafel even serves gluten-free food) and an igloo village where I easily spent two hours in a sun chair. For apres-ski, I highly recommend the Yellow Tent next to the lift – even if you have one or two drinks too many, the tent is located only 100 metres from your room.

Altogether, the Hornberg is the right place to regain energy. A typical day for me consists of a nice breakfast in the morning, a day skiing/hiking in the surrounding mountains (including sunbathing), drinks at the bar, at least two hours in the wellness area and a satisfying menu in the evening – guess what? I am already thinking about when to book my next stay.

All pictures via http://hotel-hornberg.ch/en/ 

Leave a Reply

