My Favourite Ski Resorts (Part II)

After my first part of ski resorts about two months ago, I have another go at some of my favourite places. Despite the spring mood going on, it’s time to provide inspiration for sunny Easter skiing or to eventually close the chapter of skiing for this season. Have a great Sunday!

The poshest resorts: it’s funny how resorts cater their offers to their clientele. I remember how surprised I was when I saw a luxurious Oyster Bar in Megeve (France). Switzerland, the country which is often linked to luxury has some posh hot spots, such as Gstaad, St. Moritz or Crans-Montana. Kitzbühel in Austria is known for its ski race but also for the high society meeting here. All the resorts have in common that hotels are a bit more expensive, the culinary offers a bit more exquisite, luxury brands a lot more numerous, but chances to spot some celebrities a lot higher.

The panorama views: let’s be honest – whenever I climb a mountain the view is the most rewarding feeling on earth (a full post about my love for mountains can be found here). Yet, there are some resorts that have wonderful views: First and foremost, the pictures of the Matterhorn in Zermatt take probably most of my space on my phone. From the French Jura (e.g. Crozet) you can see the Mont Blanc top, often above the clouds covering Lake Geneva. In Grindelwald, the Eiger, Jungfrau, Mönch are the mountaineering legends and serve as a postcard backdrop. I could go on forever, talking about the Dufour Spitze, the Monte Rosa, the Grossglockner, the Zugspitze, different mountain lakes, the Aletschgletscher, and so on and so – the Alps have amazing views everywhere.

The off-piste heaven: La Clusaz, La Clusaz! Having grown up in Geneva, La Clusaz is the place to go for off-piste as it does not bear many dangerous carcasses, but of course – off-piste is always linked to risk! In general, I would claim that French ski resorts have some of the better off-piste opportunities (e.g. Les Contamines, Meribel, etc.) as they are bigger and wider (no narrow steep off-piste risks) and also higher which means that chances for fresh powder are higher. That being said, Saalbach in Austria and Lech/Zürs in Austria/Switzerland are good places as well.

The border place: not sure whether I can give the best opinion on border places (never tried snowboarding), but I love watching freestyle and 360 jumps. Some of the best places I have been to so far where Les Diablerets and Arosa in Switzerland (the latter also hosting important freestyle competitions). In France, Avoriaz has a great border park that attract boarders from all over the world. In Germany, the Nebelhorn in Oberstdorf is great and eventually Soelden and St.Anton in Austria have gained worldwide popularity.

My favourite: well, after all these tips it’s time to come up with a verdict. Part of skiing for me is also to discover new resorts all the time, find the best views, the best restaurants, and a good price value, so I keep changing favourites from year to year. One of the resorts ticking many boxes is the Portes du Soleil, the biggest resort in the world that covers Switzerland and France. Restaurants are fantastic, I have endless possibilities of slopes, the difficulty is diverse and the price is absolutely reasonable. I love Zermatt equally, but it requires a bit more of budget.

Leave a Reply

